Search Visibility

Search visibility score is simply the percentage of clicks that one estimates and receives based on their organic rankings, across all of the keywords you are monitoring in your campaign. Also, it is one of the very first metrics you’ll see on your campaign dashboard. SEO visibility is a metric that tells you what percentage of potential organic clicks (out of SERPs) a website is getting for a given keyword.

To put it differently, SEO visibility isn’t to be understood in terms of raw traffic numbers. It is more about your rank in the SERPs themselves than your competitors.

Search visibility is and will remain at the top of each tab of your SEO campaign’s position. And it might be for other drives too: Assessing, Engines, and contests—everything except opportunities. It’ll also be upgraded based on what you’re looking at. For example, the Engines tab will split down the Search Visibility score depending on the engines you’re tracking. The contest will do exactly the same thing, only for you vs. your competitors.

How Search Visibility Is Calculated?

  • Taking all your positions for every one of your search phrases.
  • Applying an estimated click-through rate (CTR) based on each ranking position. The CTR calculation ensures higher ranking keywords are appropriately weighted in the score.
  • Multiplying all your sum of your key phrases position with the sum of your CTRs and dividing by the number of keywords you’re monitoring in that Campaign, giving you a single metric of 0% -100%, calculated to two decimal points.

Here is an example of how search visibility is calculated:

  • Suppose your blog ranks on an average of 10th position on 10 search phrases.
  • You get an average of 100 clicks on each key phrase and each gets a search impression of 1000.
  • Your CTR would be  100/1000 = 0.1% for each key phrase.
  • So, your search visibility score would be (Sum Of Your CTR on all key phrases) X (Sum of the position of those keywords) / Number of key phrases.
  • Means, (0.1 x 10) X (10 x 10) / 10. Makes, 100/10 = 10

A search visibility score of 0 means you don’t have any pages ranking in the top 50 areas in the SERPs. And if you have a score of 100 percent then you have all the ranking positions for your keywords. Realistically, it is very rare to get a website to score above the mid-40s for non-branded keyword phrases.

It is possible to use this score to keep track of your search engine visibility progress overall, compare your site’s visibility with that of the competition, and compare your visibility across different search engines and different places.

10 Ways To Increase Your Search Visibility

The site-wide number takes all of your rankings into account. And gives you a prominence score that’s based on each keyword that you rank for. With this explanation out of the way, here is how to boost your search engine visibility:

1. Target the Right Keywords

Data Driven Concept

If your search engine visibility is not where you would like it to be. It’s probably because you are targeting keywords that are way too aggressive. In reality. It is a mistake that we make back daily.

When we found a keyword with 9K searches each month we might say like; “Great! That sounds like a keyword I should target”. Regrettably, lots of such keywords had superb high KD scores. This means we have pretty much zero chance of ranking on such keywords. Even if the articles are the best of the best.

With that said, the best way to cope with this is to first identify your audience and plan a keyword strategy. But how to identify your audience?

Simply, ask yourself the right questions, answer them, and plan keyword strategies that can help you boost your search visibility.

Who Are Your Existing Customers: Identifying key features of your present customers may provide you clues as to what your prospects may be. Examine qualitative and quantitative information, from age and sex to purchase behavior and web page involvement. Each one of these will help paint a picture of that which you ought to be composing.

Who’s Drawn To Your Competitors: Discover what sort of individuals are engaging with your opponents. Have a look at social networking accounts, site comments, and client testimonials. Of the individuals that are fulfilled, what can it be that they enjoy? There is a great deal to learn from companies like yours.

What Do You Need To Offer: Consider the services and products that you provide, and that they bring to your prospects.

Who’d Gain From These Outcomes: Research your audience to see what you’re doing well, what you may improve, and what sort of information people need to find out from you.

Focus On Long Tail Keywords

After researching, creating, and/or picking your target keywords, the next thing to concentrate on is the keyword’s length. There are typically three versions available:

Head Keywords: These keywords hold just one specific word that highlights the content most accurately. For example, if your company provides car insurance and you are posting about said information, the head keyword you can apply is “insurance”.

Middle Keywords: These short-tail keywords mostly consist of two words. Taking the previous example into account, the keyword here is “car insurance”.

Long Tail Keywords: Long-tail keywords involve three or more words, such as “affordable car insurance” or “how to get car insurance”.

Power of Long Tail Keywords

To note, for heightening search visibility, targeting long-tail keywords bring higher value (Not in terms of traffic but search visibility score) and has lower competition than middle keywords. Statistically, long-tail keywords with four words have twice as high CTR as shorter keywords.

Long-tail keywords in particular have a low competition rate and monthly search volume. This is one reason why adding it to your content would help your web page rank better. Long-tail keywords are more suitable for attracting users who are at the end of the funnel.

Those who search for long-term keywords like the above-mentioned examples are already aware of what they are seeking. At this point, they just want more detailed information to decide if they indeed want to buy a product or service. These people are sure-shot of their problem and will only click on articles that offer them what they need.

Therefore, if you add a long-tail keyword such as “top car insurance plan under budget”, consumers would likely enter your page instead of those with only head keywords.

These keywords are effective for targeting geographical location-based audiences as well. A higher quantity of long-tail keywords in the content ensures more localized search visibility in the SERP results. Consequently, add the target location’s name in the keyword text.

2. Is Your Website Mobile Responsive?

Mobile optimization is not only essential to maintain or improve your SERP rank, but it also plays a crucial role in SEO and web design. Factors such as loading time, layout, font size, mobile responsiveness, and optimized content all contribute to boosting your search engine ranking. A mobile-optimized website aligns with your broader digital marketing strategy and facilitates remarketing efforts. By ensuring seamless user experience across different devices, you can enhance engagement, increase conversions, and drive sustained organic traffic to your site.

Beyond this, your mobile site also has to be simple to navigate. If you have ever encountered a site that clearly has not been equipped with mobile devices in your mind. You understand how frustrating the experience could be. Designing a design, especially for mobile (think a lot of vertical scrolling and easy-to-push buttons) will guarantee that if users land on the webpage, they remain on it.

Optimizing a domain for mobile users is a significant facet of a bigger digital advertising strategy. In the aggressive e-commerce business, marketers must keep on supplying consistent and personalized content across stations to make sure their content on those stations is constructed to run as quickly and efficiently as they can.

Whether your website is currently mobile-friendly and you wish to enhance it further or you are playing catch-up in regards to capturing mobile visits, staying along with search engine algorithms’ strategy to mobile sites is crucial for better search visibility.

3. Improve Your Meta Details

Organic click-through rate is a KEY Google ranking signal. And the higher your CTR, the higher your website will rank in Google. The question is: How do you get more people to click your result and you get more search visibility on relevant keywords?

The answer is simple: Write title tags and meta descriptions that produce your result more compelling.

Specifically, you may want to write title tags that catch attention without clickbait, and like your meta descriptions to sell your content.

4. Build a “Good Backlink” Profile

This guide on how to build quality backlinks by Wes McDowell is amazing and can help you understand how to build amazing backlinks easily for better search visibility. Thanks, Wes McDowell for this!

No one can doubt the fact that to get good search visibility, a good backlink profile is a must. This is something that I should be putting in the first point. When I say “Good backlink profile”, then it differs from a huge backlink profile.

You can easily get backlinks from a website with low authority scores and stats which might help you increase the number of backlinks in your profile and help you improve your search visibility. However, such backlinks don’t benefit much. You have to focus on getting backlinks from high-quality domains. You can see this as; one backlink from a high authority website is worth more than 10 backlinks from a low authority website.

Also, relevancy plays a very important part in it. For example, if your website is about SEO, and you got a backlink from a site in the fitness niche, it might help your rankings. A little. Very little. Or might not if you are not lucky.

Contrary to that, a backlink on a relevant anchor from SEO or digital marketing-related website might be going to have a much bigger impact on your search visibility.

5. Content Marketing As A Strategy For Better Search Visibility

Content makes it possible to associate with every client, win their confidence, and finally construct and maintain a connection. But it can also distinguish you from the competition on search engines and help you demonstrate the authority of your brand on your market by getting more search visibility whilst building a solid reputation and recognition.

A successful content advertising strategy provides the very best search visibility. As you may opt to set your articles out there using in-depth how-to articles in your blog, a column in the regional paper or business journal, a billboard in your town’s airport, humorous tweets, or a funny Instagram story, the only station which suits every reason you have for distributing and promoting your articles is the organic hunt.

Organic-search traffic would be your super KPIs of article promotion. Apart from individuals discovering your articles in reaction to their hunts — issues, queries, or curiosities — what exactly are you discussing information for?

While determining a specific ROI for article promotion, SEO and organic research can help you specify key performance indicators to measure and isolate the success metrics for KPIs to calculate the improvement in your search visibility.

6. Use Schema Data Structuring

In the context of refining the quality of your web content or SEO visibility score, you can go for the Schema markup approach. To elaborate, this structured data is useful for search engines to judge the web page content better. Consequently, the platforms can recommend better quality content that would satisfy the interest of search engine users.

Are you wondering how? The schema markup microdata promptly generates page descriptions in the SERPs. Such snippets of data are comparatively more informative than the traditionally available search engine result descriptions. Here, the description may include special features like a sitewide search field, visuals, or additional details.

Statistically, richer snippet results have a higher CTR of 58% while non-rich ones have only 41% CTR. Therefore, if you use the structured data approach for your web content, your website would gain greater CTRs and search visibility. Your web page may even advance to the SERP featured posts list.

7. Increase the Readability Quotient of Content

It is important to consider the readability and content optimization factors for more powerful customer reach via SERP ranking and eventual CTR growth. Websites that are easy to read and well-optimized have achieved a minimum bounce rate, thereby improving their Google search ranking. By optimizing your content, you can attract and engage your target audience, increase visibility, and drive more organic traffic to your website.

To note, the amount of time visitors stay on a page does affect its SEO visibility score. One piece of evidence in this context is the Google RankBrain algorithm which concentrates mostly on the users’ search intent. Google organizes the search engine results accordingly.

After noticing that a page is receiving a higher bounce rate, this algorithm ranks it lower in the SERP rankings. Since RankBrain centers mainly around the users’ intent, it assesses based on why a reader may or may not open the link. Here, the software typically deduces that the page has no relevant content and therefore, did not earn a high ranking.

In terms of time spent on websites, statistically, 2 minutes or more is an acceptable limit and can bring good engagement while lower than 30 seconds consider as low (Though this all depends on the content also).

Content Readability Score: Now that you are aware of the “why”, here are tips on “how” you can amplify your web content’s readability score.

Shorter Paragraphs: The SEO visibility score of web content automatically dips in quality if there are huge blocks of paragraphs. Instead, readers find it easier to travel from Point 1 to Point 2 and so forth if the paragraphs are shortened. In fact, they can return to a previous point more easily and sooner if the entire content is broken into tiny paragraphs. Hence, try not to include over three sentences in each para.

Headings/Subheadings: Notice the different web content already available with a high SEO visibility score- what do they have in common? For the most part, their content would have a well-optimized structure and content breakdown. To achieve this yourself, demarcate your entire content with well-placed preview-worthy headings and subheadings.

In this context, it is worth mentioning that the Google algorithm would likely give your content a higher SEO visibility score if the headings/sub-heads have LSI words and keywords.

Shorter Sentences: To enhance search visibility, make the sentences of your content short. This automatically boosts readability since the software algorithm of Google cannot properly evaluate long complex sentences and their text clarity. You can find many online tools or get professional help to cut down the length of the content text to a manageable amount. Keeping the sentences 20 words or less should suffice.

Transitional Phrases: Such words are useful for connecting one paragraph to the next’ this smooths out the content readability flow. For example, you are reading a web page and you notice the next paragraph starting with an entirely different point. Both paragraphs may have the necessary information about the topic. Yet, the content flow feels disjointed.

BONUS TIP

The size of the font does affect the readability score, especially if your content is mobile-optimized. Very small fonts are not legible and can put off readers since it would strain their eyes.

8. Maintain Regularity In Posting Content

One of the guaranteed methods for increasing the search visibility of any website is to prioritize posting frequently. If you publish new posts at regular intervals on your website, the engagement rate of your website would increase.

As for increasing the SEO visibility score this way, consistency is key. Not only must you publish content regularly, but also make sure the quality of the content and structure is top-notch.

Google algorithm recognizes this as an important factor for determining the value of a website for search engine users. Thereafter, your site’s SERP rank would rise.

9. Site Speed and Core Web Vitals

3D Computer Website Loading Speed Concept
3D illustration of a desktop computer with a web page, speedometer and clock icons, rocket launch, and wi-fi router isolated on white background. Website loading speed test. Internet traffic optimization

Both the speed of the website and the factor of ‘Core Web Vitals’ are worth mentioning in the context of magnifying your website’s search visibility.

Firstly, let’s come to site speed. The loading speed of websites differs per device like mobile phones and desktops. The network type settles this: mobile data runs on 3G/4G networks while desktops normally operate via network cables. Notably, the network speed for mobile phones comparatively lags more.

Users opening your website via their phones may jump to your competitors’ instead if they provide better site speed than your site. In the SERP rankings, Google prioritizes websites with faster speed and raises their score; so, you should focus on this.

As for Core Web Vitals, Google centers on the website factors that contribute to the user experience. In the context of Google search engine ranking, the ‘page experience’ is a leading ranking factor. Here, you should attend to augmenting particular factors in your website to enhance its ‘page experience’ quotient:

  • Safe-browsing capacity- no malware
  • HTTPS
  • No interstitial pop-up ads
  • Mobile adaptability

10. Heat Maps

Women Reading Map

Content creators and marketing experts pay attention to elements that would help improve their website’s user interaction rates. One tool you can adopt in that context favorably is a heatmap.

As its name suggests, this tool highlights the part of the site that is ‘hot’, i.e., attracts the most viewers. This is useful for brands to figure out the user behavior of their target audience and plan SERP ranking-boost tactics accordingly. With a heat map, you can visually notice the engagement levels of your consumers. Here, red and blue indicate the highest and lowest rates respectively.

On that note, you must be wondering how Google utilizes heatmaps for website SERP rankings. The truth is that they do not. Instead, this data is more useful for website owners and content creators. You can evaluate which parts of your site are grabbing the most clicks.

For tweaking your website’s search visibility and SERP ranking, a good UX is one of the most important things. You can be like “Yeah, I am getting traffic and now who cares about the website UX” If you do so, then be ready to lose your search visibility soon.

Heatmaps in most cases are used to conduct A/B testing. For example, let’s say you have two internal links on your web page, you can use the heatmap to investigate both links. For the one that has a lesser CTR, you can adjust the anchor text to make it more engaging. Then see if it performs better.

Also, what about bounce rates? If a user hangs around your website and leaves just after checking that page then the bounce rate would increase and will affect your search visibility!

However, with heat maps, you can try A/B testing by adding and optimizing internal links, CTA’s, etc. for getting a better bounce rate.

Conclusion

The visibility of your website on search engines with that of your most important competitors permits you to place clear priorities concerning the keywords you want to rank high in SEO. And this ultimately can help correct search engine optimization strategy.

Here is to your sites for getting higher positions and better search visibility. But, if you aren’t working on enhancing it, then it’s not too late.

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